Penalty of Hit and Run DWI Austin, Texas

If you were recently charged with a hit and run offense in connection with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas, you should immediately consult with a defense lawyer to ensure that your rights are upheld. DWI hit and run is considered a serious offense, and you could be subject to a number of severe penalties that will have a lasting impact on your life. To increase your chances of a favorable outcome, a DWI attorney can conduct an independent investigation in order to gather evidence that can help your defense.

DWI Hit-and-Run Offense

Texas law states that drivers involved in a vehicle collision are required to remain at the scene until the police arrive. Those who leave the scene of the accident could be charged with attempting to allude the police. If you are convicted of this crime (a Class B misdemeanor),  the judge could sentence you spend a maximum of 180 days behind bars and pay up to $2,000 in court fines.

In addition to the hit-and-run offense, you can be charged with DWI. The penalties for a drunk-driving conviction depend on the number of previous offenses on your record, but can include jail time, probation, community service, participation in a DWI education or intervention program, and expensive fines. An administrative license suspension can also be imposed by the Department of Public Safety.

If you caused an accident that resulted in serious injuries or death, you can face additional charges, such as intoxicated assault or vehicular manslaughter. These are felony offenses, which means you could face hard prison time in addition to up to $10,000 in fines.

Contact a DWI Defense Lawyer for Help Today

As you can see, you could face several different charges if involved in a DWI hit-and-run accident. To ensure that an attorney has enough time to prepare a defense–and to file a hearing request to appeal your administrative license suspension–you should speak with an Austin DWI lawyer as soon as possible. Your attorney can go right to work contesting your suspension and filing pre-trial motions in an effort to help you avoid a criminal conviction.

To learn more about your DWI hit-and-run charge, please contact Attorney Ken Gibson today to schedule your free case evaluation.


Call (512) 469-6056 or Schedule a Free Case Evaluation Online

Contact Us

Scroll Back to Top