Consequences of an Austin, Texas DWI 2nd Offense

Are you facing a second driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense within the past 10 years in Austin? If so, you are already familiar with the consequences you will face if convicted of a second drunk-driving charge; however, you should know that–as a repeat offender–your punishment will be increased. Fortunately, an accomplished DWI attorney may be able to prepare a solid defense that allows you to avoid another conviction and the repercussions that come with it.

Don’t be fooled into thinking it is harder to win a second DWI charge than a first–the police and prosecution are still required to have probable cause and enough evidence to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you are guilty of this serious crime. By thoroughly investigating your case and finding evidence that helps your defense, an attorney can increase the odds that your charges get acquitted, dismissed, or reduced to a non-DWI disposition.

Texas Second DWI Offense Consequences

If convicted of a second drunk-driving offense, the judge may sentence you to serve a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 180 days behind bars. While three days in jail are mandatory, the remainder of the incarceration sentence may be suspended in lieu of probation. You can also be ordered to pay up to $4,000 in fines, complete alcohol and drug education courses, and perform community service. In addition, you could face a 180-day to two-year driver’s license suspension.

Other potential consequences of a conviction include an increase in your insurance premiums once your auto insurer learns about your DWI. Your offense will also be reported on a national criminal database, which means that a potential employer could discover your conviction when running a background check. A criminal record could have an impact when applying for a professional license or security clearance.

An Austin DWI Lawyer Is Here to Help

If you have been arrested for a second offense, it doesn’t mean that you will be automatically convicted; therefore, you should work with an attorney to fight your charges. Attorney Ken Gibson has handled a number of drunk-driving cases–many with successful outcomes–and has the scientific and legal knowledge to help you at the critical time.

For advice on your second DWI offense charges, please call today to set up an appointment for a no-cost case evaluation.


Call (512) 469-6056 or Schedule a Free Case Evaluation Online

Contact Us

Scroll Back to Top