If convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Austin, Texas, you could face a number of penalties, including jail time, community service, probation, and a driver’s license suspension. To deter offenders from committing a similar offense in the future, Texas also requires mandatory DWI education classes; failure to complete the program within a certain time frame could result in the revocation of your license.
Article 42.12, Section 13(h) of the Texas criminal code states that all individuals convicted of a first drunk-driving offense and on probation are required to successfully complete a DWI program that is certified by the Department of State Health Services. Individuals who do not complete the program within 180 days from the date probation was ordered will lose their ability to drive and cannot have their license reinstated until it is complete.
If DWI education is required by the terms of your probation, it is important to make sure that the course provider is certified by the department. The DWI education program is 12 hours long, and covers topics such as drunk-driving laws, effects of drugs and alcohol, and signs of dependency.
Under Article 42.12, Section 13(j) of Texas criminal code, drivers convicted of two or more DWIs are required to complete a more comprehensive program for repeat offenders. This course is much longer than the DWI education program (32 hours) and is designed to encourage those who have an alcohol or drug dependency problem to enter into a treatment program in order to avoid further problems down the road. Again, not completing the course before the deadline passes is grounds for license revocation.
The penalties associated with a drunk-driving conviction–such as the DWI education program–can take up a great deal of your time and money. Attorney Ken Gibson is dedicated to minimizing the impact that a DWI charge has on your life. Thanks to his experience and training, Mr. Gibson has a successful track record of getting his clients’ charges dismissed, acquitted, or reduced to a lesser offense.
Are you ready to fight your pending DWI charges? If so, call us today or fill out our online form to set up a time for your free case evaluation.